9 Things I Wish I Knew 3 Years Ago When I Started My First Hobby Grow

Saved time, money, and stress with these tips for first-time growers.

If I could go back in time, these are the 9 things I wish someone had told me about Hobby Growing (that would have saved me time, money, and stress).

1. Be prepared to spend a few hundred dollars.

For some reason, it's easier to see that price tag on weed than grow equipment.

Like many, I thought I could get in at a discount, which cost me more in the long run. Hand-me-downs and makeshift options will work in the short term, but often cost you more money over time.

If I'd bought what I needed, rather than buying secondhand from friends and mixing and matching samples, I'd have saved money and the hassle of replacing gear mid-cycle.

2. Buy soil that's made for cannabis.

The first plant I grew was potted in Walmart's "organic" soil blend. It was $9.99 and made for houseplants and herbs. This will work if it's all you can access, but using materials made for your crop makes a big difference.

Cannabis has a voracious appetite compared to most potted plants, and basic soil mixes (even the top-of-the-line $9.99 organic blend) are simply not cut out for pot.

I use Roots 707 in my mix, but there are plenty of great options out there.

3. You do not have the secret recipe when you start.

No matter how many forums, academic papers, and grow diaries you pour over, and no matter how specific your "recipe for success" may seem, it's best to stick with someone else's tested path to success for your first (few) run(s) until you get to know the plant, its needs, and methods that fit your situation best.

4. Make your #1 focus keeping your plant alive.

Healthy plants perform best. You can't become a heavyweight champion when you're malnourished or stressed.

There are a million tips, tricks, and techniques for getting the most out of healthy plants, but if you are solely focused on how to fill your canopy or how to stress your branches because you read it helped, there's a real potential that your plant's health can suffer.

5. Pests and Pathogens happen to everyone, not just big grows.

My first 2x2 grow resulted in PM. It was a learning experience; I learned about mildew and proper ventilation/circulation. I also learned about how common PM is in larger grows and how important air quality is.

Firsthand experience with pests and pathogens teaches you about cleanliness and crop protection, a mindset best reinforced in the beginning.

6. Don't panic.

You absolutely will get some sort of issue at some point in your grow career (most of us experience multiple).

Don't beat yourself up when you have an issue, we've all been there. When it happens, try not to panic (like I did) and instead pause, and try to understand WHY whatever is happening is happening.

Learn (and treat) the why.

7. Most things can be fixed.

I would not have believed me if I told myself this 3 years ago, but after working with growers with decades of experience, including those specializing in IPM, the truth is that most issues you will encounter in the grow are fixable, you just need to understand what you're fixing, and have the right tools.

8. Start with LEDs unless you have a lot of space.

I started with a hand-me down high pressure sodium (HPS) bulb in a 2x2 that rapidly took my temps from the mid-70s to 95ºF+. High heat and intense lighting will fry your plants if you are not prepared to account for these variables.

LEDs remove the need for ancillary cooling equipment, and allow for lower profile (read: smaller space) grows without putting off too much heat, plus modern LED light spectrums and intensity are significantly better than they once were.

9. You can't follow everyone's advice.

There are a million ways to get from Point A to Point B when it comes to growing. Some work better than others. But you can't try all of them, all at once.

Pick a path and stick with it for a cycle (at least).

You can always change course later.